California Diversity Council Announces 2017 Top 50 Women Lawyers

Los Angeles, CA – The California Diversity Council is proud to announce the 2017 Top 50 Women Lawyers, a definitive list of female executives, influencers and achievers impacting the legal industry.

“The 2017 Top 50 Women Lawyers award list highlights the most extraordinary female leaders in the legal field,” said Dennis Kennedy, Founder and Chair of the National Diversity Council. “We are honored to recognize such distinguished women dedicated to continuous success in their workplaces and communities.”

The 2017 Top Women Lawyers selection was based on the following criteria:

  • Top leader in her organization and profession
  • Directly contributes to business growth or strategic direction of the organization
  • Maintains a record of accomplishments in areas of expertise
  • Effective role model who inspires other women and is active in mentoring the next generation of women in the industry
  • Operates with the highest integrity and ethical behavior
  • Demonstrates a commitment to corporate citizenship

To learn more about the 2017 Top 50 Women Lawyers, please visit

The 2017 Top 50 Most Powerful Women Lawyers

  • Karen Ballack, Partner, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
  • Keri Bush, Partner, Lewis, Brisbois, Bisgaard & Smith LLP
  • Kay Chandler, Partner, Cooley LLP
  • Sharon Cheever, Senior VP & General Counsel, Pacific Life Insurance Company
  • Carla Christofferson, Executive VP & General Counsel, AECOM
  • Evelyn Crane-Oliver, Senior VP, Secretary ∓ General Counsel, Robert Half International
  • Dorian Daley, Executive VP, General Counsel & Secretary, Oracle
  • Sarah DiBoise, Chief Hospital Counsel, Stanford Health Care
  • Denelle Dixon, Chief Legal & Business Officer, Mozilla
  • Shannon Dwyer, Executive VP & General Counsel, St. Joseph Health
  • Mia Farber , Office Managing Principal, Jackson Lewis P.C.
  • Laura Fennell, Executive VP, General Counsel & Secretary, Intuit
  • Kathryn Fritz, Partner, Fenwick & West LLP
  • Vijaya Gadde, General Counsel, Twitter
  • Brandi Galvin Morandi, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel & Secretary, Equinix
  • Julie Gruber, Executive VP, Global General Counsel, Corporate Secretary & Chief Compliance Officer, GAP
  • Joan Haratani, Partner , Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
  • Katherine Henderson, Partner, Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati P.C.
  • Susan Hori, Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP
  • Denise Jackson, Senior VP & General Counsel, AMN Healthcare
  • Kirsten Jensen, Partner, Simpson, Thatcher & Bartlett
  • Betsy Johnson, Office Managing Shareholder, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stuart
  • Karen Johnson-Mckewan, Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
  • Whitney Jones Roy, Partner, Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
  • Julie Kane, Senior VP & Chief Compliance Officer, PG&E Corp.
  • Tania King, Chief Legal Officer & Chief Compliance Officer, Alorica
  • Barbara Mathews, VP & Associate General Counsel, Edison International
  • Elizabeth McKeen, Partner, O’Melveny & Myers LLP
  • Carol Meltzer, Executive VP, General Counsel & Secretary, A-Mark
  • Susan Miller, Senior VP, General Counsel & Secretary, Avery Dennison
  • Susan Natland, Partner, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Baer LLP
  • Marie Oh Huber, General Counsel, eBay
  • Rita-Anne O’Neill, Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell
  • Kathleen Rhoads, Office Managing Partner, Gordon, Rees, Scully, Mansukhani LLP
  • Janis Salin, Senior VP, General Counsel & Secretary, Tetra Tech
  • Margo Smith, Senior VP & General Counsel, Marketo
  • Sarah Solum, Partner, Davis Polk & Wardell
  • Victoria Stratman, General Counsel, Caltech
  • Vanessa Valdez, Corporate Counsel, California Closets
  • Denise Visconti, Office Managing Shareholder, Littler Mendelson P.C.
  • Kathleen Waters, Chief Legal Officer, DaVita Inc.
  • Aimee Weisner, VP & General Counsel, Edwards Lifesciences
  • Martha Wyrsch, Executive VP & General Counsel, Sempra Energy
  • Lily Yan Hughes, Senior VP, Chief Legal Officer & Corporate Secretary, Public Storage
  • Sharon Zezima, General Counsel & Secretary, GoPro
  • Debby Zurzolo, Executive VP, Secretary & General Counsel, The Cheesecake Factory