Business Leaders to be Recognized at 7th Annual California Diversity & Leadership Conference

Top Business Leaders to be Recognized for Their Professional Success at 7th Annual California Diversity & Leadership Conference

2016 Diversity & Leadership Conference Northern & Southern California

The California Diversity Council is hosting their 7th Annual California Diversity and Leadership Conferences on June 7 in Long Beach and June 9 in San Francisco. This event is designed to educate and create dialogue that contributes to the improvement of diversity and inclusion in the workplace. In addition to offering valuable workshops and discussion sessions, the California Diversity Council will also honor multiple business leaders for their extraordinary success in their professional careers. The theme of this year’s conference is “Diversity & Inclusion 2.0: Aligning Purpose, People, & Performance.”

“It is an honor to recognize such deserving leaders for their hard work and dedication,” said Dennis Kennedy, Founder & Chair of the National Diversity Council. “We hope that highlighting these exceptional professionals motivates others to continue striving for their own professional success.”

The awards to be presented during this conference include the Most Powerful & Influential Women Award, the Multicultural Leadership Award, the Multicultural Leader of the Year Award, and the DiversityFIRSTTM Award. Each award is reserved for outstanding business leaders who have made a difference through their achievements and exemplify the ability to excel in their field. In addition to their professional accomplishments, these awardees also demonstrate a commitment to the advancement of workplace diversity through inclusion and positive leadership.

Registration for the California Diversity and Leadership Conference is currently ongoing and can be completed at

Northern California Awardees

Most Powerful & Influential Women Award

  • Ana Corrales, Chief Financial Officer & Chief Operating Officer, Nest
  • Nancy Hur, VP, Sales, PeopleFluent
  • Fiona Grandi, Partner, KPMG
  • M. Bridget Duffy M.D., Chief Medical Officer Vocera Communications, Inc.
  • InaMarie Johnson, Senior Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer, Plantronics
  • Catherina Min, Partner, Reed Smith
  • Mary O’Hara, Chief Human Resources Officer & Senior Vice President of Internal Communications, Blue Shield of California
  • Marty Réaume, Chief People Officer FitBit
  • Sonja Wilkerson, Vice President, Human Resources, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Joanna Riley, Chief Executive Officer, 1-Page
  • Pat Wadors, Senior Vice President, Global Talent Organization, LinkedIn
  • Karen Xie, Ph.D., Vice President, Enterprise Architecture, Blue Shield of California
  • Karen Warren Sr., Regional VP, Robert Half

Multicultural Leader of the Year

  • Richard (Dick) D. Daniels, Executive Vice President, Chief Information Officer, Kaiser Permanente

Multicultural Leadership Award

  • Govind Balakrishnan, Vice President, Product Development, Adobe Systems, Inc.
  • Gautam M. Shah, Vice President, Product Management, Vocera Communications, Inc.
  • Catrina Simbe, Senior Regional VP, Robert Half
  • Emily Ward, VP & Deputy General Counsel, Paypal
  • Michael Mathias, Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer, Blue Shield of California
  • Todd Walthall, Senior VP, Customer Experience, Blue Shield of California
  • André K. Campbell, Partner Hanson Bridgett LLP Astha Malik VP, Marketing, Pager Duty
  • Astha Malik, VP, Marketing , Pager Duty

Diversity Leadership Award

  • Shveta Miglani, Director of Corporate Learning, SanDisk

DiversityFIRST™ Award

  • Deborah J. Broyles, Partner, Labor & Employment, Director of Global Diversity & Inclusion, Reed Smith LLP
  • Tony Tenicela,Global Leader, Workforce Diversity & LGBT Markets, IBM Corporation
  • Women’s Innovation Network, SanDisk
Southern California Awardees

Most Powerful & Influential Women Award

  • Cindy Ballard, Senior Vice President, Human Resources,Tribune Publishing Company
  • Marissa M. Dennis,Partner, Allen Matkins Leck Gamble & Natis LLP
  • Monica Bouldin, Vice President,R&R Partners
  • Lily Yan Hughes, Senior VP, Chief Legal Officer, Corporate Secretary,Public Storage
  • Suzy Lindblom, Executive VP, National Fulfillment, Stearns Lending
  • Dawn Maroney, Chief Medicare & Corporate Communications Officer, Care1st Health Plan
  • Julie Min, President, Harvest West Consulting LLC
  • Nita Parikh, Principal, Jackson Lewis P.C.
  • Anita Ortiz, Vice President, Global Strategy, Viacom/Paramount Pictures
  • Debra E. Pole, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Multicultural Leadership Award

  • Dino Elizardo Barajas, Partner, Akin Gump Strauss & Feld LLP
  • Alma Derricks, VP, Sales & Marketing, Cirque de Soleil
  • Brian A. Sun, Partner, Jones Day
  • Aimee Contreras-Camua, Partner, Real Estate Group, Los Angeles Office, Sidley Austin LLP
  • Maribel Hines, VP, Learning & Organization Development North America, Universal Music Group
  • Naomi Werner, VP, Human Resources, Össur

DiversityFIRST™ Award

  • Teresa Beck, Partner, Lincoln Gustafson & Cercos
  • Denise Banuelos, Sr. Diversity Consultant, City of Hope
  • Neal Morrison, Diversity Outreach Director, City Career Fair

Download PDF